The 2007 Federal Budget introduced changes regarding how stock exchanges are categorized under the Income Tax Act. There are now three categories of stock exchanges: Designated Stock Exchanges, Recognized Stock Exchanges, and Stock Exchanges. Securities listed on a Designated Stock Exchange are qualified investments for RRSPs, RRIFs, DPSPs, RESPs, RDSPs, and TFSAs.

type Tax News - July 2008 - Process for Designating Stock Exchanges