On September 10, 2015, the leader of the Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario, Patrick Brown, introduced his “shadow” cabinet of critics related to various government portfolios. Each critic is responsible for leading the attacks on the liberal government during Question Period and for shaping public policy responses for the PC party.

Below is a list of those individuals and their assignments:

  • Patrick Brown — Leader of the Official Opposition and Critic for Education and Training, Colleges and Universities
  • Steve Clark — Deputy Leader and Critic for Tourism, Culture & Sport
  • Sylvia Jones — Deputy Leader and Critic for Children & Youth Services
  • Jim Wilson — House Leader
  • John Yakabuski — Chief Whip and Critic for Energy
  • Toby Barrett — Caucus Chair, and Critic for Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
  • Ted Arnott — Deputy Speaker, Committee of the Whole, and Critic for Labour
  • Rick Nicholls — Deputy Speaker, Committee of the Whole, and Critic for Community Safety and Correctional Services
  • Ernie Hardeman — Committee Chair and Critic for Municipal Affairs and Housing
  • Monte McNaughton — Committee Chair and Critic for Economic Development, Employment & Infrastructure, and Chair for the Blue Ribbon Panel on Prompt Payment Legislation
  • Lisa MacLeod — Committee Vice Chair and Critic for the President of the Treasury Board
  • Jack MacLaren — Committee Vice Chair and Critic for Natural Resources and Forestry, and Chair for the Blue Ribbon Panel on Property Rights
  • Laurie Scott — Deputy House Leader, and Critic for Citizenship, Immigration & International Trade, and Critic for Women's Issues
  • Bob Bailey — Deputy Whip, Critic for Democratic and Senate Reform, and Critic for Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Norm Miller — Deputy Whip, and Critic for Northern Development and Mines & Aboriginal Affairs
  • Vic Fedeli — Critic for Finance
  • Michael Harris — Critic for Transportation and Critic for Research & Innovation
  • Randy Hillier — Critic for the Attorney General
  • Tim Hudak — Critic for Financial Services
  • Gila Martow — Critic Responsible for Francophone Affairs and Critic for GTA Issues
  • Jim McDonell — Critic for Government and Consumer Services
  • Julia Munro — Critic for the Associate Minister of Finance (Ontario Retirement Pension Plan), and Critic Responsible for the Poverty Reduction Strategy
  • Randy Pettapiece — Critic for Community and Social Services and Critic Responsible for Seniors' Issues
  • Todd Smith — Critic for the Hydro One Sale
  • Lisa Thompson — Critic for the Environment and Cap-and-Trade
  • Bill Walker — Associate Health Critic for Long-Term Care
  • Jeff Yurek — Critic for Health

For further information please contact the author.

Other Author

Stephen Andrews


Public Policy and Government Relations