On May 1, 2004, the European Union ("EU") is expected to increase its membership to include 10 additional countries, namely, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, the Slovak Republic, and Slovenia. As a result of the expansion, European Community ("CTM") trademarks will be automatically extended to the new Member States. These changes will impact trademark owners currently holding CTM trademarks as well as those seeking trademark protection in those jurisdictions affected by the expanded EU.

type IP Bulletin: EU Expansion - Implications for Trademark Owners Filing by November 1, 2003