The winners of the 16th Annual BLG Awards were announced on Monday night, April 28 at the Jack Singer Concert Hall in Calgary. The event will be broadcast TSN on Sunday, May 18th at 11 a.m. EST.

Volleyball player Laetitia Tchoualack, from the University of Montreal, and hockey player Rob Hennigar, from the University of New Brunswick, are the 2007-08 Canadian Interuniversity Sport female and male athletes of the year.

The 2008 nominees for the Jim Thompson Trophy presented to the female BLG Award recipient are Memorial University of Newfoundland basketball player Katherine Quackenbush of Halifax, Université de Montréal volleyball player Laetitia Tchoualack of Paris, France, McMaster University basketball player Lindsay DeGroot of Thedford, Ont., and Simon Fraser University basketball player Lani Gibbons of Salmon Arm, B.C.

The male finalists for CIS athlete-of-the-year honours are University of New Brunswick hockey player Rob Hennigar of Jordan, Ont., Bishop's University football player Jamall Lee of Port Coquitlam, B.C., Carleton University basketball player Aaron Doornekamp of Odessa, Ont., and University of Winnipeg volleyball player Ben Schellenberg of Winnipeg.

For complete details on the 2008 BLG Award winners, visit the BLG Awards Website.